خزانة الكتب الزرقاء (للمناطق النائية)

طباعة PDF

صورة لخزانة الكتب الزرقاء التي تبدو كصندوق   معدني كبير أزرق اللونما هي خزانة الكتب الزرقاء؟

تم تكوين خزانة الكتب الزرقاء لأصحاب المهن الطبية الذين يعملون خارج المدن وفي المناطق النائية، وغير متاح لديهم بسهولة الحصول على المعلومات الصحية. أسست منظمة الصحة العالمية خزانة الكتب الزرقاء بالتعاون مع الدول الأعضاء، ليس فقط لتزويد مهنيي الصحة بمعلومات يحتاجونها، بل لتشجيع القراءة كمصدر للمعرفة والتدريب داخل المجتمع.

لماذا نحتاج لمكتبة مصغرة؟

تعاني مكتبات العلوم الصحية في الكليات الطبية في الإقليم من قلة الكتب والمجلات الطبية. وكثيراً ما تكون مصادر المعلومات المتاحة قديمة. و تكون الحالة أكثر سوءاً خارج المدن الرئيسية. إذ أن المهنيين في الرعاية الصحية غير قادرين على الوصول إلى موارد كافية، ونادراً ما توجد كتب في المراكز الصحية والمستشفيات. وغالباً ما تفتقر المكتبات الطبية التي تملك مصادر المعلومات إلى وسائل نشر هذه المعلومات.

محتويات المكتبة

المكتبة المصغرة هي مجموعة مؤلفة من 150 كتاباً حول الطب والصحة العمومية، إضافة إلى 3 أو 4 اشتراكات بمجلات صحية وبيولوجية طبية، بالنسبة للمراكز الصحية في المناطق النائية. وقد طورت مكتبة منظمة الصحة العالمية المجموعة التي نظمت حسب المواضيع الرئيسية، بالتعاون مع برنامج النشر والإنتاج والتوزيع الصحي للمكتب الإقليمي. خزنت المجموعة لسهولة النقل والتخزين، في صناديق زرقاء معدنية أو من الخشب الطبيعي تتناسب مع رفوف نظمت عليها الخزائن الحاوية على الكتب.

بين الأعمال المختارة، أعطيت الأولوية للأدلة العملية (وخاصة التي نشرتها منظمة الصحة العالمية)، وهي تقدم حلاً سهلاً للمشكلات الطبية والصحية العامة والإدارية التي قد يواجهها الطاقم الطبي. كما تم روعي بعين الاعتبار اختلاف مستويات ثقافة الفرق الطبية في المناطق النائية. ويمكن لنفس الموضوع عرضه في منشورات مختلفة من وجهات نظر متباينة: وجهة نظر الطبيب، الممرضة، الممرضة المساعدة أو العامل الصحي. وأضيفت منشورات المكتب الإقليمي إلى المجموعة. روعي في المجموعة الحرص على أن تكون صغيرة. وتوجد مواد أخرى محلية مناسبة على مستوى المنطقة يجب إضافتها. وقد جرى إعداد قائمة المنشورات بالتشاور مع وزارة الصحة. وجرى تحديث منشورات منظمة الصحة العالمية في المجموعة وتأمين طبعات جديدة منها.

كلفة المكتبة

صورة لخزانة الكتب الزرقاء أمام صندوق خشبييصل سعر كل المكتبة الواحدة إلى 2000 دولار أمريكي (تقريباً). يشمل هذا المبلع الكتب والدوريات، النقل والتوصيل. وتم الوصول إلى اتفاقية مع المكتب الرئيسي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بأن يقدموا مواد المكتبة ويتولوا النقل على أن يكون المكتب الإقليمي مسؤولاً عن:

صناعة المكتبة المصغرة سواء كانت معدنية أو خشبية

تنظيم المواد في الصندوق

ترجمة الدلائل (الكتيبات الإرشادية) والتوجيهات

تقديم التدريب للفريق على مستوى المناطق

إقامة شبكة من مشغلي المكتبة المصغرة

روعي الحفاظ على منشورات ومطبوعات منظمة الصحة العالمية محدثة باستمرار. إذ تتم مناطرة وتقييم عملي محلي من قبل منسق وطني، مع دعم من منظمة الصحة العالمية. وتقتضي مواصفات التنصيب الأولي للمكتبة المصغرة أن توضع في أماكن نظيفة تجعل في مقدور الفريق الصحي الوصول إليها بسهولة، وتخضع لبعض الإشراف للتأكد من بقاء المجموعة كاملة ما أمكن.

تدريب المشغلين

رسم لستة أشخاص يجلسون حول مائدة ويقوم المدرب بالإشارة إلى اللوحة التي خلفه

ينظم برنامج المكتب الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية للنشر، الإنتاج والتوزيع، بالتعاون مع الممثل القطري لمنظمة الصحة العالمية تدريباً في البلدان التي استلمت المكتبة المصغرة. ويعد التدريب عنصراً أساسياً في هذا المشروع، فهو ليس مجرد عملية نشر للكتب. عند غياب أمين المكتبة، يمكن تسليم عهده المكتبة إلى مهني طبي يعمل كمساعد لأمين المكتبة، وتكون وظيفته الإدارة والدعاية للمكتبة بحيث يتم نشر المعلومات الموجودة في المجموعة على مستوى المنطقة. لا يؤهل التدريب المقدم للعمال الصحيين أن يكونوا أمناء للمكتبة، لكنه يحولهم إلى شركاء فاعلين في التأكد من نقل المعلومات الطبية والصحية.

يوجد نمطان من التدريب.

يقدم التدريب الأول إلى الفريق المشرف على المشروع (فريق المكتب القطري، والمنسقون الوطنيون، وأمناء المكتبة في وزارة الصحة). يساعد هذا الفريق عندها في تدريب مساعدي أمناء المكتبة المصغرة. التدريب الأول يهدف إلى تدريب المدربين والمشرفين. والتدريب الثاني يكون لمساعدي أمناء المكتبة المصغرة الذين سيشغلون الخدمة على مستوى المنطقة. يعتمد محتوى التدريب على النماذج التي أعدتها منظمة الصحة العالمية، ويركز على أهمية المعلومات الطبية الحديثة كي يتم تزويد المجتمع بأفضل الخدمات. ويجري تدريبهم على كيفية استرجاع المعلومات باستعمال عناوين المواضيع الرئيسية Mesh، وعناوين الأعمال، والفهارس، وغيرها. ويتم التأكيد على دورهم في الترويج للمكتبة المصغرة ضمن الفريق الصحي في المنطقة.

ويشرح لهم كيف يدمجون المشروع في نشاطات التثقيف المستمر والتوعية الصحية. وأخيراً، يُعلّمون عدداً من المبادئ الأساسية لإدارة المكتبات الطبية (الإعارة، تفحص المجلات، المحادثة). وهناك أهمية كبيرة لتقييم المشروع باستخدام أدوات مختلفة كبطاقات الإعارة، وملاحظات المستخدمين، وإحصاءات تستخدم بمساعدة المنسقين خلال زيارتهم. عند العودة إلى المناطق، يكتسب مساعدو أمناء المكتبة المصغرة الشعور بالثقة لأنهم سوف يجري دعمهم في مهمتهم وأنهم جزء من شبكة واسعة في الإقليم.

البحث عن المنشورات

معطيات وإحصائيات

إجمالي عدد المطبوعات التي أنتجها المكتب الإقليمي في 2013 بلغ 78 مطبوعة.

عربي (23)

إنجليزي (38)

فرنسي (17)

وبلغ إجمالي عدد المجلات الواردة في الفهرس الطبي لإقليم شهر المتوسط 572 مجلة.

Blue Trunk Library

Print PDF

Picture of a Blue Trunk Library which looks like a large blue metal chestWhat is the Blue Trunk Library?

The Blue Trunk Library was created for health care professionals working outside of cities and in remote areas who do not have easy access to health information. The Blue Trunk Library was created by WHO, in collaboration with Member States, to not only provide these health professionals with the information they need but also to encourage reading as a source of knowledge and training within the community.

Why do we need a mini library”?

Health science libraries in medical colleges in the Region suffer from a shortage of medical books and journals. Very often the only information resources available are outdated. Outside major cities, the situation is much worse. Health care professionals are unable to access adequate resources, and books are rarely found in health centres and hospitals. Medical libraries which do have information resources often lack the means to disseminate this information.

Contents of the library

The mini library is a collection of about 150 books on medicine and public health, together with three or four subscriptions to health and biomedical journals, for district health centres. The collection, which is organized according to major subjects, has been developed by the WHO Library, in collaboration with the health publications, production and dissemination programme of the Regional Office. For ease of transport and storage, the collection has been packed into a blue metal or natural wood trunk fitted with shelves on which the cardboard boxes containing the books are arranged.

Among the works chosen, priority has been given to practical manuals (especially those published by WHO), offering an easily accessible solution to medical, public health and management problems medical staff may face. The differing levels of education among district medical staff have also been taken into account. The same topic may be addressed in different publications from a different point of view: that of a physician, nurse, nursing auxiliary or health worker. Regional Office publications have been added to the collection. The collection, which has been kept deliberately small, is not exhaustive. Other suitable local material is available at district level and should be added. The list of publications is developed in consultation with the Ministry of Health. The WHO publications in the collection are updated by the provision of new editions.

Cost of the library

Picture of a blue trunk library in front of a mini library contained in a wooden chestThe price of each module is US$ 2000 (approximately). This includes the books and periodicals, transport and delivery. An agreement was reached with WHO Headquarters that they would be responsible for providing the library materials and shipping and the Regional Office responsible for:

  • anufacturing the mini library either in metal or wood
  • arranging the materials in the trunk
  • translating manuals and guides
  • providing training for staff at district level
  • setting up the network of mini library operators.

A procedure for keeping WHO publications up to date has been established. Operational monitoring and evaluation is conducted locally by a national coordinator, with WHO support. Specifications for initial installation of the mini library require that the library is placed in clean premises accessible to all district health staff and is subject to some supervision to ensure that the collection remains as complete as possible.

Training of operators

A clip art type image of six people sitting around a table as their trainer directs their pointer towards the white boardThe WHO Regional Office health publications, production and dissemination programme, in collaboration with the WHO country representative organizes and conducts training in countries that have received a mini library. Training is an essential element of this project, as it is not merely an operation to distribute books. In the absence of a librarian, the library is handed over to a health professional who acts as a mini library assistant, whose task is to manage and publicize the library in order that the information contained in the collection is disseminated at district level. The training given to these health workers does not qualify them as a librarian but it does turn them into active partners to ensure the transmission of medical and health information.

There are two types of training.

The first is given to the project's supervisory team (country office staff, national coordinators and librarians from the Ministry of Health). This team then assists in training mini library assistants. It aims to train trainers and supervisors. The second is for mini library assistants who will operate the service at the district level. The content of the training, based on modules prepared by the WHO, emphasizes the importance of up-to-date medical information in order to provide the community with the best services. They are taught how to retrieve information by using the main subject categories (MeSH), the titles of works, indexes, etc. Emphasis is placed on their role as promoters of the mini library within the district health team.

They are shown how to integrate the project into continuing education and health promotion activities. Lastly, they are taught a number of basic principles of medical librarianship (loan, check-in of journals, conservation). Great importance is attached to evaluating the project using various tools such as loan cards, comments by users and statistics of use with help from the coordinator during their visits. When returning to their districts, mini library assistants can feel confident that they will be supported in their task and are part of a region-wide network.

Search for a publication

When performing a search make sure to insert “and” between each keyword of your search term.

Data and statistics

The total number of publications produced by the Regional Office in 2016 was 146.

Arabic (33)

English (91)

French (22)

The total number of journals that have been indexed in the Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region is 648.