Malaria control and elimination | About the programme | Malaria in the Eastern Mediterranean Region

Malaria in the Eastern Mediterranean Region

Print PDF

The number of confirmed malaria cases reported in the Region decreased from 2 million in 2000 to less than one million in 2015. Two countries accounted for 80% of cases in 2015: Sudan (59%) and Pakistan (21%). Seven countries achieved >75% decrease in the incidence of microscopically confirmed cases between 2000 and 2015 (Afghanistan, Iran [Islamic Republic of], Iraq, Morocco, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the Syrian Arab Republic). Islamic Republic of Iran and Saudi Arabia reported only 187 and 83 local cases, respectively, in 2015. 

Iraq has not reported any indigenous cases since 2009. In addition to Iraq, three countries are in the prevention of reintroduction phase (Egypt, since 1998; Oman, since 2004; and Syrian Arab Republic, since 2005). Morocco was certified as free of malaria in 2010. In 2015, Oman reported 818 imported and only 4 introduced cases and Egypt and the Syrian Arab Republic reported 291 and 12 imported cases respectively and no local transmission.