معلومات عن المكتب الإقليمي | المدير الإقليمي | الدكتور أحمد المنظري، المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية لشرق المتوسط

الدكتور أحمد المنظري، المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية لشرق المتوسط

طباعة PDF

الدكتور أحمد المنظري، المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية لشرق المتوسطالدكتور أحمد المنظري، المدير الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية لشرق المتوسط

عُيّن الدكتور أحمد المنظري مديراً إقليمياً لمنظمة الصحة العالمية لشرق المتوسط من قبل المجلس التنفيذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية في دورته الثالثة والأربعين بعد المائة، وسيباشر الدكتور المنظر مهامه في 1 حزيران/يونيو 2018.

وجدير بالذكر أن الدكتور المنظري، من عُمان، أسهم إسهاماً كبيراً وإيجابياً في تطوير النظام الصحي في عُمان وتحديثه، والذي شهد في السنوات الأخيرة نقلات نوعية، لا سيّما في مجالات مثل سلامة المرضى.

وبوصفه أخصائي في طب الأسرة والمجتمع، ترأس الدكتور المنظري قسم إدارة الجودة والتطوير في مستشفى جامعة السلطان قابوس في الفترة من 2005 إلى 2006، ثُم عُين نائباً للمدير العام للشؤون الطبية حتى عام 2010. وفي عام 2013، عُين مديراً عاماً لمستشفى جامعة السلطان قابوس، ولاحقاً أصبح مديراً عاماً لمركز ضمان الجودة في وزارة الصحة. كما عمل الدكتور المنظري كاستشاري أول بقسم طب الأسرة والصحة العامة في عُمان منذ عام 2009.

وقال الدكتور أحمد المنظري في كلمته أمام المجلس التنفيذي التي أعرب فيها عن قبوله لمنصب المدير الإقليمي، إن الإقليم يواجه تحديات كبرى بسبب أزمات طبيعية وأزمات من صنع الإنسان، فضلاً عن عدم الاستقرار الاجتماعي والسياسي والاقتصادي. كما حدد أهم أولويات الصحة العامة آلا وهي التعامل مع الطوارئ الصحية، بما في ذلك فاشيات الأمراض، وتحسين مكافحة الأمراض السارية وغير السارية، وتعزيز النظم الصحية، وتحسين صحة الأمهات والأطفال. وأكد أن منظمة الصحة العالمية من شأنها أن تتجاوب بشكل أفضل مع احتياجات الدول الأعضاء وذلك من خلال الحوار المتواصل مع السلطات الصحية الوطنية بُغية إيجاد حلول للمشكلات الصحية الوطنية والإقليمية واستعراض السياسات والاستراتيجيات الصحية وتحديثها بانتظام.

ولقد نُشرت الورقات البحثية التي أعدها الدكتور المنظري على نطاق واسع. وتجدر الإشارة أيضاً إلى أنه عضو في المجالس التحريرية لعدة مجلات، مثل مجلة طب الأسرة بالشرق الأوسط، علاوة على كونه مراجعاً للعديد من المجلات الطبية. وخلال مشواره المهني، كان الدكتور المنظري عضواً في عدة لجان علمية ومهنية ومحاضراً في مجالات إدارة الجودة، وسلامة المرضى، وطب الأسرة والصحة العامة.

ولقد حصل الدكتور المنظري على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم الصحية (1990)، ثم درجة بكالوريوس الطب والجراحة (1993) من جامعة السلطان قابوس، عُمان. وفي عام 1996، حصل على دبلوم طب المناطق الاستوائية والنظافة من كلية ليفربول لطب المناطق الاستوائية بالمملكة المتحدة، ثم الزمالة الملكية لأطباء الأسرة في عام 1998. وفي عام 2002، حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في إدارة الجودة في الرعاية الصحية من كلية ليفربول لطب المناطق الاستوائية. كما أشرف الدكتور المنظري على برنامج الزمالة لطب الأسرة والمجتمع في جامعة السلطان قابوس من 2003 إلى 2006.

About us | Regional Director | Dr Ahmed Al-Mandhari, WHO Regional Director for the Eastern Mediterranean

Dr Ahmed Al Mandhari, WHO Regional Director for the Eastern MediterraneanDr Ahmed Al Mandhari, WHO Regional Director for the Eastern MediterraneanDr Ahmed Al-Mandhari, WHO Regional Director for the Eastern Mediterranean

Dr Ahmed Al-Mandhari was appointed as WHO Regional Director for the Eastern Mediterranean by WHO’s Executive Board at its 143rd session and assumed office on 1 June 2018.  

A native of Oman, Dr Al-Mandhari has made a substantial, positive contribution to the development and modernization of Oman’s health system, which has witnessed qualitative improvements in recent years, particularly in areas such as patient safety. 

A specialist in family and community medicine, Dr Al Mandhari was Head of Quality Management and Development at Sultan Qaboos University Hospital from 2005 to 2006, followed by Deputy Director-General for Clinical Affairs until 2010. In 2013, he was appointed Director-General of Sultan Qaboos University Hospital, later becoming Director-General of the Quality Assurance Centre at the Ministry of Health. Dr Al-Mandhari has also worked as a senior consultant in family medicine and public health in Oman since 2009.

In his acceptance speech to the Executive Board, Dr Al Mandhari noted that the Region was facing major challenges caused by natural and manmade crises and sociopolitical and economic instability. He identified the main public health priorities as health emergencies including disease outbreaks, communicable and noncommunicable diseases, health system strengthening, and maternal and child health. He said that WHO would become increasingly responsive to the needs of Member States through continuous dialogue with national health authorities to identify solutions to national and regional health problems and to regularly review and update health policies and strategies.

Dr Al Mandhari’s research papers have been widely published and he serves on the editorial boards of several journals, including the Middle East Journal of Family Medicine, in addition to also working as a reviewer for various medical journals. Throughout his career, he has served on various scientific and professional committees and lectured in the fields of quality management, patient safety, family medicine and public health.

Dr Al-Mandhari obtained a BSc in Health Sciences (1990), followed by an MD in Medicine and Surgery (1993) from Sultan Qaboos University in Oman. In 1996, he gained a Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene from the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine in the United Kingdom and was awarded the Royal Fellowship for Family Doctors in 1998. In 2002, he obtained a PhD in Quality Management in Health Care from the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. Dr Al-Mandhari oversaw the Fellowship Programme in the Department of Family and Community Medicine (FAMCO) at Sultan Qaboos University from 2003 to 2006.