Hépatite


Photographie d'une femme portant un jerrycan d'eauL'hépatite A et E se transmet par voie oro-fécale en consommant des aliments ou de l'eau contaminés. Crédit photo : OMS.L'hépatite virale est causée par un groupe de virus (hépatite A, B, C, D et E) à l'origine d'une infection aiguë ou chronique et d'une inflammation du foie. Les virus de l'hépatite B et C sont des causes importantes de morbidité et de mortalité.

L'hépatite A et E est causée par la consommation d'aliments ou d'eau contaminés. L'hépatite B, C et D se transmet par contact avec le sang et les autres fluides corporels d'une personne infectée. Les modes de transmission courants sont les transfusions à risque et les procédures médicales invasives à l'aide d'équipement infecté. L'hépatite B peut se transmettre par la voie périnatale (de la mère à l'enfant pendant l'accouchement), par les infections pendant la petite enfance (résultant du contact étroit avec des proches infectés) et par les rapports sexuels non protégés.

L'hépatite est devenue un important problème de santé publique dans la Région de la Méditerranée orientale. Au niveau régional, plus de 75 % des cirrhoses et des carcinomes hépatocellulaires sont dus aux infections par le virus de l'hépatite B ou C. Malgré les stratégies de prévention efficaces, la transmission perdure dans toute la Région. De plus, un grand nombre de ces infections résultent d'une transmission nosocomiale ; c'est pourquoi il est crucial de mettre en œuvre les programmes de lutte contre les infections et de sécurité tranfusionnelle.

Imprimer PDF

Regional Action Plan for the Implementation of the Global Strategy for Viral Hepatitis 2017-2021

User name:

Password:

Regional Action Plan for the Implementation of the Global Strategy for Viral Hepatitis 2017-2021

Imprimer PDF

Regional Action Plan for the Implementation of the Global Strategy for Viral Hepatitis 2017-2021

Online consultation survey

Hepatitis

A photograph of a woman carrying a large water containerHepatitis A and E are transmitted through the oral-faecal route by eating or drinking contaminated food or water. Photo credit: WHOViral hepatitis is a group of viruses (hepatitis A, B, C, D and E) that cause acute and/or chronic infection and inflammation of the liver. Hepatitis B and C viruses are major causes of severe illness and death.

Hepatitis A and E are typically caused by ingestion of contaminated food or water. Hepatitis B, C and D usually occur as a result of parental contact with infected body fluids. Common modes of transmission for these viruses include receipt of contaminated blood or blood products, invasive medical procedures using contaminated equipment and for hepatitis B transmission from mother to baby at birth, from family member to child, and also by sexual contact.

Viral hepatitis has emerged as a leading public health problem in the Eastern Mediterranean Region. More than 75% of cirrhosis and hepatocellular carcinoma in the Region is attributable to hepatitis B virus or hepatitis C virus infection. Despite the availability of effective prevention strategies, hepatitis B and C transmission occurs throughout the Region. Many of these infections are acquired in health care settings. Implementation of infection control, injection safety and blood safety programmes are major challenges. 

World Hepatitis Day