حمى الدنج

بعوض الدنكبعوض الدنك. منظمة الصحة العالمية حمى الدنك هي عدوى فيروسية تنتقل عن طريق البعوض الموجود في المناطق المدارية وشبه المدارية حول العالم. وهو علة وخيمة تشبه الإنفلونزا، وتصيب الرضع وصغار الأطفال والبالغين، لكنها قلما تؤدي إلى الوفاة. في السنوات الأخيرة ازداد الانتقال في المناطق الحضرية وشبه الحضرية، وأصبح مصدر قلق دولي كبير في مجال الصحة العامة.

وإن حمى الدنك هي المرضُ الفيروسي المنقول بالبعوض الأسرعُ انتشاراً في العالم؛ ففي السنوات الـ 50 الماضية زاد الوقوع 30 ضعفاً، مع ازدياد التوسع الجغرافي إلى بلدان جديدة، وتم التوسع - في العقد الحالي ـ من المناطق الحضرية إلى المناطق الريفية. وإن ما يُقدَّر بـ 50 مليون حالة عدوى بحمى الدنك تحدث سنوياً، وحوالي 2,5 مليار شخص يعيشون في البلدان الموطونة بحمى الدنك.

لقد تم الإبلاغ عن أوبئة حمى الدنك وحمى الدنك النزفية في الإقليم منذ عام 1998، مع زيادة التواتر واتساع نطاق التوزع الجغرافي لكل من الفيروس والبعوض الناقل. وقد تم الإبلاغ عن فاشيات من جيبوتي وباكستان والمملكة العربية السعودية والصومال والسودان واليمن. وفي عام 2009 والنصف الأول من عام 2010 تم الإبلاغ عن فاشيات من حمى الدنك وحمى الدنك النزفية من المملكة العربية السعودية والسودان واليمن.

Dengue


Dengue mosquitoDengue mosquito. WHO

Dengue fever is a viral infection transmitted by mosquitos found in tropical and sub-tropical regions around the world. It is a severe, flu-like illness that affects infants, young children and adults, but seldom causes death. In recent years, transmission has increased predominantly in urban and semi-urban areas and has become a major international public health concern.

Dengue is the most rapidly spreading mosquito-borne viral disease in the world. In the last 50 years, incidence has increased 30-fold with increasing geographic expansion to new countries and, in the present decade, from urban to rural settings. An estimated 50 million dengue infections occur annually and approximately 2.5 billion people live in dengue endemic countries.

Since 1998, epidemics of dengue fever and dengue haemorrhagic fever have been reported in the Region with increasing frequency and expanding geographic distribution of both the viruses and mosquito vectors. Outbreaks have been reported from Djibouti, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. In 2009 and the first half of 2010, outbreaks of dengue fever and dengue hemorrhagic fever were reported from Saudi Arabia, Sudan and Yemen.