الحروق


يحدث الحرق عندما يتم تدمير بعض أو كل الطبقات المختلفة من خلايا الجلد نتيجة التعرض لسائل ساخن (السمط) أو جسم صلب ساخن (الحرق التماسي) أو لهب (الحرق اللهيبي). وتطرح الحروق مشكلة خطيرة من مشاكل الصحة العمومية على الصعيد العالمي، حيث إن أكثر من 195 ألف حالة وفاة سنوياً تقع نتيجة الحروق المرتبطة بالنيران وحدها. كما أن إصابات الجلد بسبب الأشعة فوق البنفسجية أو الكهرباء أو النشاط الإشعاعي أو المواد الكيميائية، إلى جانب الأضرار في الجهاز التنفسي الناتجة عن استنشاق الدخان، تعتبر أيضاً حروقاً.

وإذا ما وضع في الاعتبار الوفيات الناجمة عن الحروق بسبب سائل ساخن والحروق الكهربائية وغيرها من أشكال الحروق الأخرى، فإن عدد الوفيات سيكون أعلى من ذلك بكثير. ومع ذلك، فإن مثل هذه المعطيات العالمية غير متوافرة. وتعد الوفيات المرتبطة بالنيران هي السبب الرئيسي رقم 15 لوفاة الأطفال والشباب البالغين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و29 عاماً.

ويحدث أكثر من 95% من الحروق المميتة المرتبطة بالنيران تحدث في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل، بينما تحدث أعلى معدلات للوفيات في مرحلتين الطفولة والشيخوخة، حيث تحدث بين الأطفال دون سن الخامسة وكبار السن الذين يبلغون الـ 70 عاماً فأكثر. وبالإضافة إلى عدد الوفيات المرتفع، يعاني الملايين من تشوهات وحالات عجز مدى الحياة، وغالباً ما يؤدي في كثير من الأحيان إلى الوصم والنبذ من المجتمع.

وعدد الوفيات هذا هو أمر غير مقبول، وذلك لأنه هذا العدد يمكن تجنب. فقد حققت البلدان المتقدمة نجاحاً كبيراً في الحد من الوفيات الناجمة عن النيران من خلال التدخلات الوقائية التي أثبتت جدواها والخدمات المقدمة لأولئك الذين يعانون من حروق. ويمكن تبني هذه التدخلات والخدمات من جانب البلدان النامية، مع تكييفها وتعديلها وفقاً للظروف المحلية بكل بلد، من خلال جهود جماعية ومتضافرة على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والعالمية.

Burns

A burn occurs when some or all of the different layers of cells in the skin are destroyed by a hot liquid (scald), a hot solid (contact burns) or a flame (flame burns). Burns pose a serious global public health problem with over 195 000 deaths annually from fire-related burns alone. Skin injuries due to ultraviolet radiation, radioactivity, electricity or chemicals, as well as respiratory damage resulting from smoke inhalation, are also considered to be burns.

If deaths due to scalds, electrical burns and other forms of burns were considered, the death toll would be much higher. However, such global data are not available. Fire-related deaths are the 15th leading cause of death for children and young adults aged 5–29 years.

Over 95% of fatal fire-related burns occur in low- and middle-income countries. The highest mortality rates occur at the extremes of age; among children under 5 years and older people at 70 years and older. Besides the high death toll, millions suffer lifelong disability and disfigurement, often resulting in stigma and rejection.

What makes this death toll so unacceptable is that it could be prevented. Developed countries have been very successful in reducing-fire related deaths through proven preventive interventions and services for those suffering burns. These interventions and services could be adopted by developing countries, with adaptation to local circumstances, through collective and concerted efforts at national, regional and global levels.

Related topics

Print PDF

Millennium Development Goals

Violence against women

Related programmes

Violence, injuries and disability

Collaborating centres

WHO Collaborating Centre for Emergency Medicine and Trauma Care