Child health and development | Millennium Development Goals

Millennium Development Goals

Print PDF

The “Millennium Development Goals” (MDGs) are eight development goals set for 2015. They include child health related goals. All Member States have pledged to meet the Goals. The Goals were adopted on 8 September 2000 by the United Nations General Assembly in its fifty-fifth session with resolution 55/2 “United Nations Millennium Declaration”.

The leaders recognized that they “have a duty … to all the world’s people, especially the most vulnerable and, in particular, the children of the world, to whom the future belongs”.

Targets were set for the eight goals and social and economic development indicators to monitor progress.

Millennium Development Goals

United Nations Millennium Declaration

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »