الالتهاب الرئوي


A photograph of a young girl spreading out her arms and smiling at the cameraالأطفال ذوو الأجهزة المناعية المنقوصة أكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بالالتهاب الرئوي. صورة مهداة من: منظمة الصحة العالمية الالتهاب الرئوي هو شكل من أشكال العدوى التنفسية الحادة التي تصيب الرئتين. وهو ينتج عن عدد من العوامل المُعدية، بما فيها الفيروسات والجراثيم والفطريات. يمكن أن ينتشر الالتهاب الرئوي بعدد من الطرق؛ فيمكن للفيروسات والجراثيم التي توجد عادة في أنف الطفل أو حلقه أن تعدي الرئتين إذا تم استنشاقها، وقد تنتشر أيضاً عن طريق قطيرات السعال والعطس المحمولة بالهواء. إضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الالتهاب الرئوي يمكن أن ينتشر عن طريق الدم، خصوصاً أثناء الولادة وبعدها بقليل.

إن الوقاية من الالتهاب الرئوي لدى الأطفال مكوِّن أساسي من مكونات إستراتيجية خفض وفيات الأطفال؛ فالتمنيع ضد المستدمية النزلية من النمط B والمكورات الرئوية والحصبة والسعال الديكي (الشاهوق) هو الطريقة الأكثر فعالية للوقاية من الالتهاب الرئوي.

التغذية الملائمة هي مفتاح تحسين الدفاعات الطبيعية للأطفال، بدءاً من الإرضاع الحصري من الثدي طيلة الأشهر الستة الأولى من الحياة. وإضافة إلى كونها فعالة في الوقاية من الالتهاب الرئوي فإنها تساعد أيضاً في خفض مدة المرض إذا أصبح الطفل مريضاً.

إن التصدي للعوامل البيئية؛ مثل تلوث الهواء داخل المباني (من خلال توفير مواقد داخلية نظيفة وبأسعار معقولة، على سبيل المثال) والتشجيع على النظافة الجيدة في المنازل المكتظة تقلل أيضاً عدد الأطفال الذين يصابون بالالتهاب الرئوي.

Pneumonia


A photograph of a young girl spreading out her arms and smiling at the cameraChildren whose immune systems are compromised are at higher risk of developing pneumonia. Photo credit: WHOPneumonia is a form of acute respiratory infection that affects the lungs. It is caused by a number of infectious agents including viruses, bacteria and fungi. Pneumonia can be spread in a number of ways. The viruses and bacteria that are commonly found in a child's nose or throat, can infect the lungs if they are inhaled. They may also spread via air-borne droplets from a cough or sneeze. In addition, pneumonia may spread through blood, especially during and shortly after birth.

Preventing pneumonia in children is an essential component of a strategy to reduce child mortality. Immunization against Hib, pneumococcus, measles and whooping cough (pertussis) is the most effective way to prevent pneumonia.

Adequate nutrition is key to improving children's natural defences, starting with exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life. In addition to being effective in preventing pneumonia, it also helps to reduce the length of the illness if a child does become ill.

Addressing environmental factors such as indoor air pollution (by providing affordable clean indoor stoves, for example) and encouraging good hygiene in crowded homes also reduces the number of children who fall ill with pneumonia.