أمراض الديدان

إن الدواد المنقول بالتربة موزَّع على نطاق واسع في المناطق المدارية وشبه المدارية، وقد أشارت التقديرات إلى أن أكثر من مليار شخص في العالم مصابون بالعدوى بالدُّواد المنقول بالتربة، من بينهم أكثر من 300 مليون يعانون من مَراضة.

هناك أربعة أنواع من الديدان الطفيلية تسبب دُواداً منقولاً بالتربة هي: الديدان الشصية (الأنكيلستوما الإثنا عشرية والفتاكة الأمريكية)، والدودة المدورة (الأسكارس الخراطينية)، والدودة السوطاء (المسلَّكة الشعرية الذيل). وكل نوع مسؤول عن مجموعة منفصلة من العلامات والأعراض، بل - في الواقع - عن مرض منفصل. وتشمل الأعراضُ الغثيانَ والتعب والألم البطني وفَقد الشهية. هذه الأمراض المُعدية تُفاقم سوء التغذية وتُضخِّم معدلات فقر الدم.

لقد شكَّل السكان الذين يحتاجون إلى معالجة كيميائية وقائية من الدواد المنقول بالتربة ـ في إقليم شرق المتوسط ـ 14% من أولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى معالجة كيميائية في جميع انحاء العالم في عام 2008. في عام 2003 كانت تقديرات حالات العدوى بالديدان المنقولة بالتربة 23 مليوناً لداء الصَّفَر (الأسكارس) و7 ملايين لداء المسلكيات و10 ملايين لمرض الدودة الشصية.

Helminthiasis

Soil-transmitted helminthiases are widely distributed in tropical and subtropical areas. Worldwide, it has been estimated that more than one billion people are infected with soil-transmitted helminthiases infections, of whom more than 300 million suffer from severe morbidity.

There are four species of helminth causing soil-transmitted helminthiases: hookworms Ancylostoma duodenale and Necator Americans, roundworm Ascariasis lumbricoides, and whipworm Trichuris trichura. Each species is responsible for a separate set of signs and symptoms, in fact for a separate disease. Symptoms include nausea, tiredness, abdominal pain and loss of appetite. These infections aggravate malnutrition and amplify rates of anaemia.

In the Eastern Mediterranean Region, the population requiring preventive chemotherapy for soil-transmitted helminthiases constituted 14% of those requiring the chemotherapy worldwide in 2008. In 2003, estimates of cases of soil-transmitted helminthiases infections were 23 million for ascariasis, seven million for trichuriasis and 10 million for hookworm disease.