داء الفيلاريات

داء الفيلاريات اللمفي هو أحد أقدم الأمراض المدارية المهمَلة وأكثرها إنهاكاً. وهو ينجم عن ديدان طفيلية من فصيلة الديدان المدورة من الفيلاريات التي تسري إلى البشر عن طريق البعوض من جنس الباعض والأنوفيلي والزاعج.

يُقدَّر أن 120 مليون شخص من 81 بلداً مصابون بالعدوى بداء الفيلاريات اللمفي. ويُقدَّر أن 1,43 ملياراً يعيشون في مناطق يتوطن فيها داء الفيلاريات وهم معرضون لخطر العدوى. حوالي 65% من الأشخاص المعرضين للخطر يقيمون في إقليم جنوب شرق آسيا بمنظمة الصحة العالمية، و30% في إقليم أفريقيا، والباقون في أجزاء أخرى من العالم المداري.

التظاهرات السريرية الأكثر شيوعاً لداء الفيلاريات اللمفي تشمل الوذمة اللمفية والقيلة الصفنية. وهذان التظاهران يؤثران سلباً على الحياة الشخصية والاجتماعية، ويحدان من الأنشطة المهنية، مما يجعل داء الفيلاريات اللمفي السبب الرئيسي الثاني للعجز المزمن في العالم.

في عام 1998 أعلنت إحدى شركات الأدوية التزامها بالتعاون مع منظمة الصحة العالمية بتقديم ألبيندازول مجاناً ما دامت هناك حاجة إليه للتخلص من هذا المرض. ووسَّعت الشركة الدوائية المتبرعة برنامج تبرعها لداء كُلابية الذنَب ليقدِّم الإيفرمكتين من أجل التخلص من داء الفيلاريات اللمفي في كل البلدان التي يتشارك في التوطن فيها داء الفيلاريات اللمفي وداء كُلابية الذنَب.

داء الفيلاريَّات اللمفي في إقليم شرق المتوسط

إن إقليم شرق المتوسط لديه من السكان المعرضين للخطر ما يقدر بـ 12,6 مليون نسمة، وهو ما يمثل 1% تقريباً من العبء العالمي للمرض.

فَداء الفيلاريات اللمفي متوطن في مصر والسودان وجنوب السودان واليمن. وفي السودان وجنوب السودان واليمن يتشارك داء الفيلاريات اللمفي في التوطن مع داء كُلابية الذنَب. ولا يزال الوضع غير مؤكد في أربعة بلدان أخرى، ويحتاج إلى استقصاء وبائي، وهي: جيبوتي وجمهورية إيران الإسلامية والمملكة العربية السعودية والصومال.

في عام 2000 وافقت اللجنة الإقليمية لشرق المتوسط على قرار (EM/RC47/R.11) يحث الدول الأعضاء ـ التي لديها سراية حالية أو سوابق سراية للمرض ـ على إجراء تقييمات وطنية وبائية للمرض، لتعزيز نُظُم التدبير والترصد والمعلومات والتقييم الخاصة بداء الفيلاريات، ولإعداد خطة وطنية محددة زمنياً للتخلص من المرض بما يتماشى مع الإستراتيجات المعتمدة من قِبَل منظمة الصحة العالمية.

روابط ذات صلة

(EM/RC47/R.11) [pdf 13 كيلوبايت]

WHO | Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Arabic (عربي) French (Fr)
Home Filariasis


Lymphatic filariasis is one of the oldest and most debilitating neglected tropical diseases. Lymphatic filariasis is caused by parasitic worms of nematodes family of Filariodidae that are transmitted to humans by mosquitoes of the genus Culex, Anopheles and Aedes.

An estimated 120 million people from 81 countries are infected with lymphatic filariasis. An estimated 1.43 billion live in areas where filariasis is endemic and are at risk of infection. Approximately 65% of those at risk reside in WHO’s South-East Asia Region, 30% in the African Region and the remainder in other parts of the tropical world.

The most common clinical manifestations of lymphatic filariasis include lymphoedema and scrotal hydrocele. These two manifestations adversely affect personal and social life, and limit occupational activities, making lymphatic filariasis the second leading cause of chronic disability worldwide.

In 1998, a pharmaceutical company announced its commitment to collaborate with WHO by providing albendazole free of charge for as long as needed to eliminate the disease. The donating pharmaceutical company expanded its donation programme for onchocerciasis to provide ivermectin for lymphatic filariasis elimination in all countries where lymphatic filariasis and onchocerciasis were co-endemic.

Lymphatic filariasis in the Eastern Mediterranean Region

Eastern Mediterranean region has an estimated at-risk population of 12.6 million people, accounting for approximately 1% of the global disease burden.

Lymphatic filariasis is endemic in Egypt, Sudan, South Sudan and Yemen. In Sudan, South Sudan and Yemen, lymphatic filariasis is co-endemic with onchocerciasis. The situation in four other countries remains uncertain and needs epidemiological investigation: Djibouti, Islamic Republic of Iran, Saudi Arabia and Somalia.

In 2000, the Regional Committee for Eastern Mediterranean approved resolution (EM/RC47/R.11) urging Member States with present transmission or a history of transmission to make national epidemiological assessments of the disease, to strengthen filariasis management, surveillance, information and evaluation systems, and to develop a time-bound national plan for eliminating the disease in line with the strategies adopted by WHO.

Related link

(EM/RC47/R.11) [pdf 13Kb]