Every year, the World Health Organization (WHO) presents awards to key people and/or organizations that have made valuable contributions to tobacco control and have helped make World No Tobacco Day and its theme a great success. These awards are an expression of WHO's appreciation of the great time and effort that these contributors have invested in the campaigns, as well as in fighting tobacco.

This year, six World No Tobacco Day awards will be presented to:

Multi-sectorial Smoking Control Committee, Iraq

Ms Khadijeh Fereidoun Mohasseli, Responsible Expert, National Tobacco Control Secretariat, Islamic Republic of Iran

Dr Atef Morched Majdalani, President of the Health Committee at the Lebanese Parliament, Lebanon

Dr Rima Nakkash, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, American University of Beirut, Lebanon

The Public Authority of Consumer Protection, Oman

Dr Asad Ramlawi, Assistant Deputy Minister of Health Affairs, Ministry of Health, Palestine

These individuals and/or organizations are strong tobacco control advocates and have actively contributed to various tobacco control-related activities at national level, particularly drafting tobacco control legislation and mobilizing the needed stakeholders for the adoption and implementation of tobacco control policies and measures. They have been instrumental in monitoring and following up on implementation levels and compliance with tobacco control

regulations.

Saturday 26th of April 2025 02:25:43 PM